whenieat

i eat well

3 Pepper Penne

Leave a comment

Today I found myself feeling good, feeling healthy and ready for lunch. Ready for lunch exactly while perusing the isles at Choices… so endless options and I wanted pasta. I found a beautiful box of quinoa penne pasta for the win. “Pasta is not the healthiest but Quinoa is so this is okay.” Turns out it wasn’t Quinoa, just the brand… but it was still amazing. It just so happened that the back of the box had a recipe. I found myself some beautiful organic peppers (I can’t believe I just used beautiful to describe peppers. Hoooboy), organic cilantro, organic green onions and some peaches for desert. I took them home, enlisted the help of my best assistant and teacher and we got cooking. We changed up the recipe a bit and made it amazing!

3 Pepper Penne – Adapted from the gogoquinoa pasta box.

  • 1 box of pasta (g-free of course)
  • 1 orange pepper
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 green pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic (is not enough, add more)
  • handful of cherry tomatoes
  • two green onion stalky things
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro (more if you are Alicia and Amy)
  • 1/2 can black olives (to Amy’s dismay, I think they are gross aka optional)
  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar (we were out so we used the juice and zest of half a lemon instead)
  • toasted pine nuts to top

1. Cut out the nasty bits from the peppers, peel the garlic, rip the cilantro, grab the green onion and toss it all into the food processer (or blender). (Next time I think I will add the tomatoes to this step as well but they were kinda an after thought)
2. Cook pasta following the instructions on the box. Drain and leave in pot.
3. Add the vinegar (lemon juice), salt and pepper and evoo to the pepper mix. Throw it all into the pasta pot.
4. Here is where we added lemon zest and chopped tomatoes.
5. Let them simmer (Amy, is that the right word?) for 5 or so minutes while you toast the pine nuts.
6. Toast the pine nuts.
7. Plate. Add pine nuts and extra green onion.
8. Devour because it is so stinkin’ good and you are starving… even though it only took about 20 minutes, including the time it took to set up the food processer.

Next up: Learn how to fix the fonts and make them proper.

Author: whenieat

I'm Alicia. Feel free to join me as I post about life :) I'm married to a wonderful man, working as a preschool teacher and facing the challenge of living and eating gluten and dairy free.

Leave a Reply

