whenieat

i eat well

But how can you have pizza without cheese??

1 Comment

Today, I wanted pizza. I daydreamed up a pizza romance but it disintegrated quickly when I got to the part about actually making the beauty. HOW does one make pretty pizza when one can’t eat anything? Margarita pizza? Nope. Chicken Alfredo pizza? Nope. Barbecue chicken pizza? Noo way. Boo. What to do. Give up apparently. Part of it could have been because I was driving a school bus filled with children and needed my brain to be filled with road thoughts. That was mostly it. The rest of the reason was because I have no idea how to make regular pizza, let alone one that’s dairy free, gluten free.

Anyways, long story short, it was only in passing that I mentioned the idea Amy. She loved it. So, pizza was born! … 3 hours and a trip to Choices later (at least I’m spending my money good food and not McDonald?). Delicious, cheese-less *all but one, super healthy pizza.

Beans, beef, tomato sauce, onion, tomatoes.

Dough credit to Amy. Vegetables credit to Ben and Amy. Meat and tomato sauce were a team effort. I spent the money and had the brain child.

I know that she ignored and changed a bunch of the recipe but for my own reference, here is the (mostly) original based from http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/gluten-free-pizza-crust-recipe. Also, I bet she doubled it.

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice flour blend (Who knows what sort of combination Amy used)
  • 2 tablespoons buttermilk powder or nonfat dry milk powder (this definitely did not happen. “I don’t even know what this would do…” Amy)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (for dough)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (for pan) (each pan)
  • Oregano?

1) Dry ingredients (except the yeast) go in the mixer. Mix until thoroughly blended.
2) Place the warm water, olive oil, yeast, and about 1/2 cup of the dry mixture into a small bowl. Stir to combine; a few lumps are OK. Set aside for 30 minutes or so, until the mixture is bubbly and smells yeasty.
3) Add this mixture to the dry ingredients, and beat on medium-high speed for 4 minutes. The mixture will be thick and sticky. (I’m sure it was)
4) Cover the bowl, and let the dough rest for 30 minutes or so.
5) Preheat the oven to 425°F.
6) Drizzle 2 tablespoons olive oil onto the center of a baking sheet or 12″ round pizza pan. (We didn’t have these. So Amy improvised) Scrape the dough from the bowl onto the puddle of oil.
7) Using your wet fingers, start at the center of the dough and work outwards, pressing it into a 12″ to 14″ circle.
8) Let the dough rest, uncovered, for 15 minutes.
9) Bake the crust for 8 to 10 minutes, just until it’s set.
10) Remove from the oven and top with whatever you like. Return to the oven to finish baking, about 10 to 15 minutes depending on the toppings you’ve chosen.

The beautiful chicken 🙂

Sauce: Ben and Amy threw some tomatoes, orageno, garlic cloves and peppers into the bullet. I boiled it down. Voila!

Toppings: We made 5 different types of pizza. Just veggie for Amy with artichoke hearts, onion, peppers, tomatoes and herb sauce. Meat Feast with cheese for the men (and Keyli) so beef, chicken, and sausage.  Chicken for me, like Amy’s minus artichoke hearts plus tomato sauce. Taco -beans, beef, t-sauce, onion, peppers- was the biggest so nearly everyone had a slice. Mother had hers on a yeast free crust with a compilation of everything.  All in all, everyone was pleased; they were soooooooooo good! Hurray!

The crust, by the way was amazing. If I had loved it any more I probably would have spent a good 5 minutes trying to chip the stuck stuff off the pan. And since I didn’t do that, I definitely wasn’t the one who scratched the pan.. nope.

All lined up and ready to go in the oven!

Author: whenieat

I'm Alicia. Feel free to join me as I post about life :) I'm married to a wonderful man, working as a preschool teacher and facing the challenge of living and eating gluten and dairy free.

One thought on “But how can you have pizza without cheese??

  1. Pizza without cheese is not bad at all! 😉

Leave a Reply

