whenieat

i eat well

The redemption post. Or Coconut makes everything taste better.

Leave a comment

It turns out that 1/2 of my desserts last night had great texture and 2/2 of the desserts had decent flavor. Not so bad considering the brownie attempt consisted of a record number of fails. Case and point: let me show you what they looked like: Actually, no. I didn’t take any pictures of the brownie fail but I have a before and after of the cake.

Image

As you can see by the missing pieces, the little cake definitely redeemed itself by completely disappearing before 4:00 this afternoon. Either my family has been so deprived of sweets that anything will do, or that it was actually pretty good. Keyli’s response was a complaint that all the coconut taste made it gross… which is more like a compliment, actually.

The brownies… didn’t exactly fair so well. Even after being in the oven for nearly an hour, it still came out goopy and gross looking. I was just so frustrated last night that I covered it up and went to bed without even tasting the finished product. This morning, again, I had absolutely no interest in the project until Amy asked if I had tried it. Since I worked hard on it I figured it was probably something that should happen before it made it’s way to the trashy trash. The crusty bits had firmed up nicely though, so Amy and I each took a little piece. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover ‘cus it turned out pretty good! A little Very wierd but edible… the edges at least.

Image

The mangled ‘brownie’

After about 5 minutes of laughing at ourselves tearing away at the edges like sugar deprived dinosaurs, there wasn’t much left crust to be had. Amy and I needed a new plan for this, stat. The insides were in no condition to be eaten without some sort of consistency change and it was too hot to put them back in the oven. In case you weren’t aware, Amy and I are the same person. Not really, we are grossly different in most areas, but somehow we have the same brain. And the same thoughts. Same thoughts like, what if we add a can of coconut milk and turn this into ice cream?

Throw it into the food processor. Blend. Make funny faces and awkward poses trying to visually express your utter excitement.

For real, this tasted like REAL ice cream. I’d even go as far to say that it was akin to a slightly melted brownie blizzard. So good! Moral of the story is that even crappy strange bean brownies can become good ice cream if you just give them a fighting chance…and pair them with coconut.

‘Like the real stuff’ Crazy brownie fail icecream (I can’t remember what blog I found the original brownie recipe on… but I’m just typing this out from a not so clear memory. This is mostly just a guideline for next time I want to do this)

  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 5 chia ‘eggs’ (grind the chia, for real)
  • 1/2 cup ish honey
  • a tablespoon or so Vanilla
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Possibly optional step if making this into ice cream? Throw everything in the food processer until smooth and put in the oven for 45 mins at 325.

For the actual ice cream?

  1. Freeze the brownie mess, a can of full fat coconut milk (in a baggie for easy access once frozen), freeze your bowls (it melts fast), the food processor bowl and blade.
  2. Take everything out of the freezer, throw it all into the food processor.
  3. Add more honey and more vanilla to taste. Also, some salt.
  4. Scoop and serve!
  5. We topped ours with frozen raspberries and unsweetened coconut flakes.

Redemption.

Author: whenieat

I'm Alicia. Feel free to join me as I post about life :) I'm married to a wonderful man, working as a preschool teacher and facing the challenge of living and eating gluten and dairy free.

Leave a Reply

