whenieat

i eat well

It’s not about me.

Leave a comment

Last night Ben and I were waiting in the border line-up talking about things that God has been teaching us lately. This was the first time I had put it into words and that voice inside was at work trying to get me to keep my mouth shut. I couldn’t, it’s been bothering me for a couple off weeks now. First a gentle nudge with a simple loop back, ‘hmm, I sure would like to make that quinoa flake porridge again. The recipe is on my blog but I bet I could just make it off the top of my head.’ That happened, then there was post that I commented on, while typing my info there was an optional “website” box. Part of me considered not putting it in because we’ve been dead here since August. For some reason, I put it on anyways. That happened twice. Two weeks ago I attempted to make a batch of coconut milk egg-nog. A complete fail, but something to talk about nevertheless. Last week, I made a giant pot of rice and beans and it wasn’t ‘amazing’  but I was excited and even entertained the idea of writing about it… but I was convinced that I shouldn’t bother because of a lack of pictures. Last night I finally put it together.

It always seems to follow the same pattern -God gives me those little nudges, first gentle and spread out and then all of a sudden I can’t stop thinking about something and it keeps coming up everywhere. I like to think I’m pretty good at convincing myself that I’m just being silly or a bit more truthfully my brain will start to entertain ideas like this: “nobodywantstoreadwhatyouhavetosayaboutfoodbecauseyoudon’tknowverymuchaboutitatallbabystepsdontmatterjustgiveupuntilyou’regoodenough.” And then I stop, step back and think good enough, really? Like that will ever happen. Seriously Alicia. Jesus didn’t give you life because you were already “good enough”. You have life because HE is good enough and can take your brokenness and turn it into something beautiful. He can turn a seemingly terrible life sentence into something beautiful. In fact, he is already doing just that. Being stuck this was isn’t as awful now as it was 6 months ago- He is changing you. So don’t worry about good enough. Focus on sharing your passion and excitement and knowledge with other people. It is YOUR blog and if you write it for Him than nothing else matters.

Dinner for one :)

Dinner for one 🙂

With that in mind, tonight I made myself a garlicy salmon that sat on a bed of carrots, tomatoes, peppers, onions, leeks and lemon slices. It was pretty fantastic, I was incredibly proud of the results 🙂 Regrettably, I went the cheapo route today bought non-organic, non-local (although Canadian) tomatoes. Taste buds were happy but digestion, not as much. Note to self: organic tomatoes are a must. Or at least local because those ones don’t bother me as much.

I also made some cookies for desert. They didn’t turn out exactly the way I was hoping they would but they taste great. I smell another batch coming up soon (these ones definitely wont last!) and maybe even a new post. We are back in business over here 🙂

Author: whenieat

I'm Alicia. Feel free to join me as I post about life :) I'm married to a wonderful man, working as a preschool teacher and facing the challenge of living and eating gluten and dairy free.

Leave a Reply

