whenieat

i eat well

When WE eat

2 Comments

Ben is all about making food look good on the plate. Which is great, because it means we take… slightly better looking pictures of food then I was doing before. It also helps that we used some of our wedding money to buy a fancy new camera. What doesn’t help that much is that I have *no* clue how to use the thing. Not true, I’m learning. Just slowly. It’s frustrating though when I think I’ve figured it out one time, and it does something completely different the next time.

Oh well. I’ll learn eventually! I’ve figured it out enough to know that if you click the button, you magically end up with a still image on the screen. WOW! Here are some of those magic still images taken of food that we’ve eaten this past while.

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been getting vegetables this season from the wonderful Zaklan Heritage Farm in Surrey. It has been fabulous and many delicious things have been created with their veggies 🙂

Image

Beautiful salad with veggies from Zaklan Herritage Farm 🙂

For the most part, I do the cooking however, sometimes Ben will pull out something wonderful. Like this! Steak, rice and salad with yellow carrots and mangos!

Image

The Sunday that Ben “had no idea” what he was making. right.

This next one is definitely not the prettiest looking.. and it was quite strange tasting. However, for the experiment that it was, it turned out about as good as it could get. Basil pesto rice with fried tomatoes and steak. Both of us really liked the tomatoes and the steak (obviously) it was the rice that threw us off.

IMG_1139

Still learning how to focus.

Technically neither of us made this pumpkin pie, but I really like this picture. Unfortunately, I have yet to make a pumpkin pie this season and since I am unable to eat pie from Safeway, I consoled myself by taking pictures of Javier devouring his.

Image

Pie fingers.

One day Ben made himself breakfast.

Image

Yam and Eggs 🙂

Then he sent me this picture while I was at work. Totally unfair!

Image

Yam and eggs in a bowl!

These little babies came from that wonderful farm I was telling you about. Did you check them out yet? Anyways, neither Ben nor I are crazy about squash, infact, both of us were hesitant to eat these because.. squash. No matter how cute they are, I do not have fond childhood memories of squash. I hated squash. Yuck. Howeever, since we’re adults now, Ben and I have decided that we can tolerate squash. In the end, it was the filling that made them good but I was quite proud of both of us for eating them 🙂

Image

Little baby squashisquash.

We also had roasted corn and extra filling with our squash.

Image

I love him 🙂

I love food! I love Ben 🙂 It is sooo much fun to eat with him!  I just love it, I love it, I love it!

Author: whenieat

I'm Alicia. Feel free to join me as I post about life :) I'm married to a wonderful man, working as a preschool teacher and facing the challenge of living and eating gluten and dairy free.

2 thoughts on “When WE eat

  1. Yay! How cool is it that you get to eat together everyday now!? At the moment I am enjoying not having to cook. I only miss it a little bit. Even more I am enjoying going for kaffee trinken – or for me, an excuse to eat cake!

Leave a Reply

